About UMass

President Marty Meehan

Marty Meehan is the first undergraduate alumnus to lead the five-campus University of Massachusetts system. On July 1, 2015, he became the university’s 27th president after serving in the U.S. House of Representatives and as chancellor of UMass Lowell.


The University of Massachusetts is the Commonwealth’s only public research university system. It consists of five campuses in Amherst, Boston, Dartmouth, Lowell and UMass Medical School in Worcester. The University also has a satellite in Springfield and a School of Law in Dartmouth. UMass is currently ranked as the No. 1 public university in New England according to Times Higher Education World Reputation Rankings.

Points of Pride

The University of Massachusetts is a five-campus public research university system renowned for the quality of its academic programs, the scope and excellence of its research, and its enduring adherence to its public service mission.

Quick Facts

See information on student enrollment, tuition and total degrees conferred.

University Reports

The university publishes a number of reports across a variety of topics; from its world-class initiatives in cybersecurity and the life sciences to its annual budget and financial indicators.