President's Public Service Awards


Share |

 Recipients of the 2010 President's Public Service Awards
 Caption: From left to right: UMass Boston Associate Professor Lisa M. Gonsalves, UMass Lowell Associate Professor Doreen Arcus, UMass President Jack M. Wilson, UMass Medical School Professor Lucy M. Candib, UMass Dartmouth Associate Professor Marguerite L. Zarrillo, and UMass Amherst Professor W. Richards (Rick) Adrion. Photo by Harry Brett

The University honors faculty members who have provided exemplary public service to the Commonwealth. Every year, the Chancellor from each campus nominates faculty to be considered for the award.

Service to the Commonwealth is a key element of the University's mission. Faculty members who apply their academic or professional expertise in addressing priority needs of the Commonwealth, such as K-12 education, economic development, workforce development, health and environment innovation, or international linkages for Massachusetts are recognized for their contributions.

Since being established in 1998, the President's Public Service Award has been presented to a total of 76 University of Massachusetts faculty members. In 2010, we have chosen an additional five professors, representing all five UMass campuses in Amherst, Boston, Dartmouth, Lowell and Worcester. We are pleased to celebrate these individuals' tremendous accomplishments. They contribute to our communities locally, state-wide, nationally, and globally. Click here to read the press release.

This year's winners were honored during a ceremony on Monday, Nov. 29, 2010 and hosted by UMass President Jack M. Wilson. This was President Wilson's last public service award ceremony as he prepares to retire from the presidency in 2011. Also in attendance were UMass Amherst Chancellor Robert C. Holub, UMass Boston Chancellor J. Keith Motley, UMass Dartmouth Chancellor Jean F. MacCormack, UMass Lowell Chancellor Martin T. Meehan, and UMass Medical School Chancellor Michael F. Collins.

The 2010 President's Public Service Award winners are:

Public Service Awards 2010

Public Service Awards 2009