News Releases and Official Statements

Share |

UMass President Honors Faculty Public Service


BOSTON - University of Massachusetts President Jack M. Wilson today announced the five recipients of the 2009 President's Public Service Award. The awards are presented annually to faculty members from the University's Amherst, Boston, Dartmouth, Lowell and Worcester campuses who have been nominated by the Chancellors of their respective campuses for providing exemplary service to the Commonwealth. This year's honorees, professors Mari Castañeda , David Terkla, Matthew Roy, Kay Doyle, and Linda Sagor, join 71 other faculty members in receiving the recognition since the awards were first given out in 1998.

"This is the 12th year for the President's Public Service Award and this year's winners continue in the remarkable tradition of the earlier recipients," said President Wilson. "These five professors have all gone above and beyond the call of duty in providing public service, part of the mission of a public research university. Their achievements shed light on the significant contributions of all of the dedicated, talented and hard-working faculty members who teach at our campuses and also contribute so much to our communities, our Commonwealth and our world.

President Wilson added, "The recipients of this award carry on a tradition of service that dates back to our University's earliest days. Service to the Commonwealth and its communities has always been a central part of our mission."

UMass Board of Trustees Chairman Robert J. Manning said, "This year's award winners and their campus colleagues are tremendous examples of academic excellence and service, both of which are crucial to our mission as a public research university. Without the exceptional work and dedication of our faculty members, providing our students with a world-class education would not be possible."

The five recipients were honored today at a luncheon at the University of Massachusetts Club in Boston.

The 2009 President's Public Service Awards winners are:

  • Mari Castañeda, Ph.D, Associate Professor of Communication at UMass Amherst:  Professor Castañeda is recognized for her role in the development of university-community partnerships that benefit the growing Latina/o community of Holyoke in areas of education, economic development and housing. She is an ardent and energetic advocate whose work with the Community Outreach Partnership Center (COPC) and Student Bridges demonstrates the strength of her commitment to building reciprocal relationships that dovetail with her work in media, cultural production, policy and pedagogy.
  • David G. Terkla, Ph.D., Professor in the Economics Department and the Department of Environmental, Earth, and Ocean Sciences at UMass Boston:  Professor Terkla is recognized for the enormous impact he has made on greater Boston and the state through his work identifying new industry clusters and their influences on the Massachusetts economy, his research on transportation planning that helped initiate significant legislative and policy changes, and his work in fisheries and ocean management.  Dr. Terkla has established a highly respected body of work that is recognized by academics, practitioners, politicians, and leaders.
  • Matthew H. Roy, Ph.D., Assistant Provost and Director of the Center for Civic Engagement at the School of Education, Public Policy and Civic Engagement at UMass Dartmouth: Professor Roy is recognized for leading a five campus collaboration to increase the breadth and depth of community service learning performed by University of Massachusetts students.   He is also the architect of the Leadership for Educational Attainment Developed Through Service (LEADS) program, designed to increase the civic engagement and leadership skills of Fall River and New Bedford public school students.
  • Kay Doyle, Ph.D., Professor, Program Director and Department Chair of the Department of Clinical Laboratory and Nutritional Sciences at UMass Lowell: Dr. Doyle is a passionate advocate who has demonstrated a longstanding dedication to enhancing lives through developing strong partnerships between science and people who are influenced by it.  As a scientist and global leader within the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP), she participates in the certification of medical laboratory professionals in this country and is establishing standards for Laboratory Medicine across the world. Professor Doyle's service and commitment know no boundaries.
  • Linda D. Sagor, M.D, MPH, Associate Professor of Clinical Pediatrics and Division Director of General Pediatrics at UMass Medical School:  Dr. Linda Sagor, a compassionate pediatrician and ardent advocate for children, is one of central Massachusetts' leading physicians. She is committed to the care and welfare of children on multiple levels, from promoting school breakfast programs to teaching medical students about the importance of primary care.  Dr. Sagor founded and directs FaCES, the Foster Children Evaluation Services Clinic, providing health assessments to facilitate excellent medical care for these vulnerable children. 

Robert P. Connolly, 774-455-7188


The PDF files on this page require the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Communications Staff Directory

Robert P. Connolly
Vice President for Strategic Communications and University Spokesperson
617.548.0238 (cell)
617.287.7073 (office)

Ann Scales
Director of Communications
617.838.3963 (cell)
617.287.4084 (office)

JoAnn Conley
Communications Coordinator/Writer
617.287.5538 (Office)

Jan Brogen
Senior Writer
617.287.4027 (Office)

Featured University of Massachusetts Publications

UMass Amherst
UMass Boston
UMass Dartmouth
UMass Lowell
UMass Medical School