In Partnership

Economic Development

Share |

Economic Development

The University of Massachusetts creates jobs, prepares its students to succeed in those jobs, and inspires social activity that strengthens communities in every region of Massachusetts. In fact, the University of Massachusetts is one of the state's largest economic engines, generating billions in economic activity each year.

In fiscal 2012, UMass research and development expenditures reached nearly $600 million, and UMass licensing revenue grew to $54 million, its second-best year in history. In 2011, technology licensing revenue reached $36 million, ranking UMass 14th among all US universities. Enrollment is now nearly 71,000 students.

Through a partnership with the Federal Reserve Bank of Boston, the UMass Donahue Institute publishes MassBenchmarks, an economic journal covering the performance of and prospects for the Massachusetts economy, including periodic economic analyses of major geographic regions within the Commonwealth and an array of key industries that make up the economic base of the state. Sample projects from the Donahue Institute's Economic & Public Policy Research group are available on the Donahue Institute's web site.

For more examples of the University's role in economic development, read InnovationSpotlight, the President's e-newsletter for economic development, and sign up to receive your own copy quarterly. Past issues include:

From 1998-2008, the President's Office published a semi-annual newsletter for economic development: In Brief

For more information about economic development across the UMass system, contact the appropriate party below:

UMass Amherst

Jim Capistran, Executive Director of the UMass Innovation Institute 
Phone: (413) 577-1518 E-mail: capistran@umass.edu

Marla Michel, Executive Director, Economic Development Strategies & Regional Partnerships
Phone: 413-755-6109 E-mail: marla@admin.umass.edu

UMass Boston

John Ciccarelli, Associate Vice Chancellor, Government Relations And Public Affairs
Phone: 617-287-7893  E-mail: john.ciccarelli@umb.edu

UMass Dartmouth

Paul Vigeant, Assistant Chancellor for Economic Development
Phone: 508-999-9143  E-mail: pvigeant@umassd.edu

UMass Lowell

Jacqueline Moloney, Executive Vice Chancellor
Phone: 978-934-2943  E-Mail: jacqueline_moloney@uml.edu

Julie Chen, Vice Provost for Research
Phone: 978-934-2226 E-Mail: Julie_Chen@uml.edu 

UMass Medical School, Worcester

Brendan Chisholm, Chief of Staff, Office of the Chancellor
Phone: 508-856-4031  E-mail: brendan.chisholm@umassmed.edu

UMass Donahue Institute, Hadley

J. Lynn Griesemer, Executive Director
Phone: 413- 545-0001 E-mail: lgriesemer@donahue.umassp.edu

Daniel Hodge, Director, Economic and Public Policy Research
Phone: 413-577-2393 E-mail: dhodge@donahue.umassp.edu

UMass President's Office, Boston

Tom Chmura, Vice President for Economic Development
Phone: 617-287-4832 E-mail: tchmura@umassp.edu

Douglas Banks, Associate Vice President for Economic Development
Phone: 617-287-4096 E-mail: dbanks@umassp.edu


Science and Technology Initiatives Fund

About

Application and Review Process

Funded Awards